musings, ruminations, and ramblings from the edge of lost

Highschool

Highschool was tough, I can’t lie. So much happens over four years that looking back now, I can barely remember any of them and I was a senior just last year. I can’t blame anyone but myself for how much I struggled though, and I do regret not putting as much effort into the right parts of schooling. I didn’t study a lot, I chose not to stay up all night for a little extra practice, I didn’t like most of the stuff I was learning so why would I want to spend my free time on it? I can honestly say playing sports was one of the only reasons I was putting in the little bit of effort I did. I knew I had to have certain grades to play and once they reached that point…I was focused on anything but school.

The thing I wish I would have realized so much earlier than the end of senior year is, lacrosse and my extra-curricular activities weren’t going to be my career. Lacrosse wasn’t going to pay the bills in the long run. I don’t regret how hard I worked at lacrosse, it may seem like I do because I know I could have done better in my classes, but I took a lot of life lessons out of it. People you never expected can become your family away from home, it helps to set an example to the ones younger than you, and that’s what I want people to honestly take out of not just this post, but my entire blog.

You have to realize that what you are doing right now should be to reach the goals you have set for yourself in the future. Life hit me pretty hard when I graduated, I felt lost, confused, suddenly I couldn’t turn assignments in late and these teachers didn’t care about me. You are on your own when you graduate, and its so terribly great you don’t even realize it. After senior year you are going to grow more as a person than you ever expected, and coming from someone like me who didn’t try as hard as I should have in classes can tell you that these changes are for the better. Don’t be scared of the future, embrace the adult you are becoming and life will work in your favor.

Never believe that you weren’t meant to succeed, it is what we were born to do. Work hard in the classes you hate to be able to do more of what you love. You aren’t going to be great at anything unless you are truly passionate about it.

Bryce A. Mullins

 

2 responses

  1. cool man

    October 15, 2013 at 4:42 pm

  2. Reblogged this on daltoncouch.

    October 15, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Leave a Reply

